Research News
Harbin Institute of Technology

Prof. Aijie Wang Elected as Chair of the New International Water Association Anaerobic Experts Group

Updated: 2018/04/16

Written by Ke Xiao
Translated by Siyuan An
Edited by: D. Parker
Date: April 13th

Recently the Anaerobic Experts Group of the International Water Association elected a new management committee.  This committee is composed of 19 experts from around the world. Professor Aijie Wang from HIT’s School of Environmental Studies was elected Chairman of the Management Committee becoming the first Chinese scholar to hold this position since the establishment of the organization.  In addition, HIT Prof. Defeng Xing was elected as a member of the Management Committee and the sole representative of the East Asian region.

The anaerobic experts group is one of the most active professional committees within the International Water Association.  In 2013, the International Association of Water Quality Analytical Subcommittee, China Branch was established at our university. Nanqi Ren, academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, was elected as the first chairman.  Over the years HIT’s School of Environmental Studies has been at the forefront of anaerobic technology research. It has pioneered ethanol-based hydrogen production fermentation technology and theory, simultaneous removal and recycling of carbon-nitrogen-sulfur in wastewater, microbial electrochemical technology and theory, and refractory degradation. The research and engineering applications of these organic wastewater biological treatment technologies and theories have led to series of landmark achievements with international influence.

Prof. Aijie Wang is a distinguished professor of the Yangtze River Scholar Award Program sponsored by the Ministry of Education. She is a member of the National Fund for Distinguished Young Scientists, and an IWA Fellow. She has been engaged in water pollution control theory and resource research led by anaerobic technology for many years.

Prof. Defeng Xing was chosen as part of the first group of young talents from the Central Organization Department.  He is a winner of the National Outstanding Young Scientists Fund, and winner of the Young Scientist Award from the Ministry of Education. He has been engaged in wastewater treatment and energy technology research since the onset of his career.

Editor: Yankai Shang


Professor Leng Jinsong chosen as an Academician of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts

HIT Leads in Progress in the Field of “Super-Wetting” Materials

HIT Holds Working Conference on the Implementation of the "2511" First-Class Disciplines (Groups) Initiative

Prof. Xie Hui’s HIT Research Group Makes Great Progress in Nanomechanical Measurement Imaging

HIT Professor He Qiang’s Research Team Publishes Research Results on the Discovery of Group Behavior of the Colloid Motor in Angewandte Chemie International Edition

Research Group Led by Wang Zhijiang of the School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Makes Great Progress in the Reclamation of CO2

Professor Shao Lu’s Team from HIT’s School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Makes Significant Achievements in Ultrafast Molecular Separation Membranes Research

Hu Ying’s Research Group from HIT’s School of Life Science and Technology Makes Great Progress in the Study on the Regulation of Oxidative Stress on Tumor Cells

Professors Zhang Guangyu and Li Longqiu from HIT Mechatronics Engineering School achieve new progress in Magnetic Micro-vehicles

Vice Professor Li Baoqiang of School of Material Science and Engineering Made Significant Progress in Real-Time Noninvasive Visualized Monitoring of Degradation of Biomaterials Based on Nano Carbon Dots