Harbin Institute of Technology

HIT Becomes Vice-Council of the China AI Industry Development Alliance

Updated: 2018/06/21

Written by: Cui Yang
Translated by: Shen Xiao
Edited by: D. Parker
Date: 2018-6-04

On May 31st, 2018 the first council of the China Artificial Intelligence Industry Development Alliance (AIIA) held their second meeting in Beijing. At the meeting HIT was elected as one of three universities, from among 28, to serve as vice-council for China's Artificial Intelligence Industry Development Alliance. The other two are Tsinghua University and Zhejiang University. Academician Han Jiecai, HIT vice president, was elected deputy director.

Sun Wei, Deputy Director of the High Technology Industry Division of the National Development and Reform Commission, and Wang Weiming, Deputy Director of the Science and Technology Department of the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology, attended the meeting and delivered speeches. Liao Yimin, director of the Central Network Communications Office, Pan Yunhe, Zheng Nanning, Chen Chun, and Dai Hao, academicians from the Chinese Academy of Engineering, Pu Mu-ming, a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Zhong Yixin, a member of the New York Academy of Sciences, as well as guests and representatives from the Council of China’s Artificial Intelligence Industry Development Alliance, and members of the Committee of experts attended the meeting. The meeting was presided over by Wang Zhiqin, vice president of the China Institute of Information and Communications.

According to the "Internet+" Three-Year Plan of Implementation of Artificial Intelligence, AIIA was initiated with the purpose of accelerating the development of the artificial intelligence industry in China, building a public service platform for the development of the artificial intelligence industry, and upgrading its industrial development capacity and application levels.  Leading enterprises and institutes such as the China Institute of Information and Communications, Baidu, Ali, Tencent, Tsinghua University, Zhejiang University, iFLYTEK, Qihu 360, the Institute of Automation of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Shenyang Xinsong, ZTE, INESA, the China Electric Power Research Institute, the Aerospace Science and Technology Group, China Unicom, the Electronic Fourth Institute, and the Electronic First Institute were some of the entities who established AIIA.  This was done under the guidance of four ministries: the National Development and Reform Commission, the Ministry of Science and Technology, the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology and the Central Network Communications Office.  Currently, the Union has 248 member units. Pan Yunhe was elected as the first president. Gao Wen, academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering and alumnus of HIT, was elected director of the expert’s committee.


HIT has developed a magnetic swimming microrobot for cancer diagnosis and treatment

The final of the 10th National College Students Mathematical Competition were held at HIT

Our University carried out activities commemorating World Water Day and China Water Week both Inside and Outside the University

CHENG Zhiming, the vice-governor of Heilongjiang province, and his entourage attended a meeting on scientific and technological innovation and industrialization of achievements in HIT

A series of activities celebrating International Women's Day on March 8th held and Health Forum officially launched

Vice President Ding Xuemei met with vice president of Drexel University in the United States

HIT Vice President Xu Dianguo Led a Delegation to Visit Australian Universities

Harbin Institute of Technology Held a Series of Activities with Pacific National University

Vice-President Ren Nanqi Met with the President of Sumatra University of Technology of Indonesia

Trees symbolizing evergreen friendship planted together by HIT and Pacific National University