Harbin Institute of Technology

HIT Undertook the Seventh International Conference on Structural Control and Monitoring

Updated: 2018/09/03

Written by: Chen Wenli
Translated by: Wu Han
Edited by: William Mosteller
Date: August 30, 2018

HIT News (Text/Chen Wenli, Photo/Tu Mu). The Seventh International Conference on Structural Control and Monitoring, hosted by the International Association for Structural Control and Monitoring, was held in Qingdao. This conference was sponsored by HIT, the Chinese branch of the International Association for Structural Control, and the Structural Vibration Control and Health Monitoring Professional Committee of the Chinese Society for Vibration Engineering. It was co-organized by Qingdao University of Technology and the China Bridge magazine. Professor Li Hui from the School of Civil Engineering was the chairman of the conference.

The conference was attended by 768 delegates from 25 countries and regions, including Li Hui, president of the association; Yozo Fujino, Fabio Casciati, and Jose Rodellar, former presidents of the association; Secretary General Samif Masri; Ou Jinping, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Engineering; Zhai Wanming, Academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chen Zhengqing, Wang Fuming, and Wu Zhiqiang, Academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering; Norden E. Huang, Academician of the American Academy of Engineering; James L. Beck from the California Institute of Technology; Billie F. Spencer from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Campbell Middleton from Cambridge University; Chung-Bang Yun from the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology; Hong Hao, Academician of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering; Xu Youlin, Li Hongnan, Du Xiuli, Wu Zhishen, and Li Shucai, well-known Chinese structural control and monitoring experts; Zhou Wei, chief engineer of the Ministry of Transport; and Zhao Tiejun and Yu Dehu, vice presidents of Qingdao University of Technology.

The conference had academic exchanges focused on topics such as advanced sensing technology, structural health data monitoring science, artificial intelligence in civil engineering, structural state assessment and life management, structural health monitoring integration technology, highway bridge health monitoring, high-speed railway dynamics and health monitoring, wind turbine system health monitoring, structural health monitoring engineering applications, structural vibration control, self-recovering seismic structures, bridge structure multi-disaster control, and long-span bridge flow control. In total, 16 conference reports, 61 invitation reports, and 469 technical reports were made.

During the conference, the award ceremony for the Kobori Prize winners was held. Professor Li Hui hosted the Council of the International Association for Structural Control and Monitoring and the Council of the Asia-Pacific Intelligent Structure Technology Association. Participants visited the Shandong Expressway Jiaozhou Bay Bridge Health Monitoring System and the Qingdao Citizen Fitness Center Health Monitoring System.

The International Association for Structural Control and Monitoring was founded in 1990 by G.W. Housner, T. Kobori, F. Casciati, and HIT academician, Xie Lili. After more than 20 years of development, the association enjoys a high reputation in the field of international structural vibration control and monitoring. This authoritative international academic organization is divided into six branches: the U.S. branch, Chinese branch, European branch, Japanese branch, Korean branch, and Australian branch. Professor Li Hui is currently the president of the association. The International Conference on Structural Control and Monitoring is held every four years. The first six sessions have been held in Los Angeles, U.S.A.; Kyoto, Japan; Como, Italy; San Diego, U.S.A.; Tokyo, Japan; and Barcelona, Spain. This was the first time the conference was held in China.


Full view of the conference room 


Li Hui, president of IASCM, held the opening ceremony.


Award ceremony of Kobori Prize


Professor Leng Jinsong was Elected as the Fellow of American Association for the Advancement of Science

The Second Session HIT Ice & Snow Cultural Festival was Opened

Winter Games was Held in the HIT Brings the Campus Happy Times

Principal Zhou Yu Attended The 9th Joint Conference of the University Alliance of Excellence and the Sino-British University Engineering Education and Research Alliance for Principals

The First Swimming Liquid Metal Nanomachine is Developed

“Hello, Harbin” 2018 ASRTU Youth Winter Festival held at HIT

A new attempt on the innovative practice of the overseas students——the establishment of the Engineering Innovation Practice Base of the overseas students of Harbin Institute of Technology

Two Students from HIT Participated in the Global Promotion Activities of Heilongjiang Province

Our School Attended the APSCO 10th Anniversary High-Level Forum and Signed the Cooperation Agreement

Professor Han Xiaojun from the School of Chemical Engineering and Chemistry was elected to the Royal Society of Chemistry