Harbin Institute of Technology

Professor Leng Jinsong was Elected the Foreign Academician of the European Academy of Sciences

Updated: 2018/10/22

Written by: School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Translated by: Zhao Yuhang
Edited by: William Mosteller
Date: 2018-10-11

HIT News (School of Aeronautics and Astronautics/Text) Recently, the European Academy of Sciences announced the 2018 list of new academicians and foreign academicians. Professor Leng Jinsong of HIT was elected as a Member of the Academia Europaea of the European Academy of Sciences.

Academia Europaea, also known as The Academy of Europe, is a scientific organization sponsored by the science ministers from 35 European countries, the Royal Society, and other countries’ National Academies of Sciences. It is headquartered in London, England. Academia Europaea consists of 20 academic departments covering the fields of humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and science and technology. It is considered to be one of the most extensive, academically advanced, and influential international scientific organizations in the academic field.

Academicians of the Academia Europaea are mainly selected from the academicians of European countries, and to receive this recognition is a lofty international academic honor. The election is held once a year and follows a strict selection process, which includes recommendation by the current academician, preliminary evaluation from the faculty, a communication review, and finally approval by the Board of Directors of the European Academy of Sciences. At present, the academicians of the European Academy of Sciences include 73 Nobel Prize winners, 6 Turing Award winners, and 15 Fields Prize winners.

Leng Jinsong, doctoral advisor of the Institute of Composite Materials and Structures of the School of Aerospace, Cheung Kong Scholar Special Professor of the Ministry of Education, recipient of the National Outstanding Youth Foundation Award, one of the first scientific and technological innovation leaders of the “National Special Support Program for High-level Personnel” of the Central Organization Department, and member of the “New Century Talents Project ”, mainly researches new intelligent materials and the structural mechanics and design thereof, flexible robots, 4D printing technology and biomedical devices, structural health monitoring, and multi-functional nanocomposite structures. His related research results have won the second prize of the National Prize for Natural Sciences. He is the current Vice President of the International Composites Committee (ICCM) and the Vice Chairman of the China Society for Multiple Materials. He was elected as the SPIE Fellow in 2010, IOP Fellow in 2011, ICCM World Fellow in 2017, and Member of the European Academy of Sciences and Arts in 2017.

Links to the European Academy of Sciences:


The Joint Technical Institute of HIT and BMSTU was established

CCTV Newsweek Reported HIT

The Unveiling Ceremony of the Polar Academy, Harbin Institute of Technology and the UArctic-HIT Training Center 28 February, 2019

Professor Huang Zhiwei of the School of Life and Technology Reveals the Molecular Mechanism of Substrate Compatibility and High Fidelity of the Cas9 Variant of Gene Editing System

LIU Yongtan is Honored by CAE (the Chinese Academy of Engineering) with the State Highest Science and Technology Award

CCTV reports the story behind the most beautiful photo of the Earth and the Moon taken by the Harbin Institute of Technology's micro-satellite team

New Year Speech —To be a Patriotic Struggler and a Dream Chaser,delivered by Principle Zhou Yu

Science Magazine Published a Photo of the Moon and Earth Taken by the Harbin University of Technology's

The Third ASRTU Sino-Russian Bilateral Symposium on Innovation Food Science and Equipment Hosted by HIT

Vice President Ren Nanqi Led A Delegation to Visit Russian Universities